Between Nederlands & Me. It’s You.

In my bedroom, lack of sleep, lack of meals, overjoyed.

Regarding the understanding of talk less and more action, I decide to dig up the inspirations needed to be written here. A social media website such as Facebook does really help me to recall many beautiful moments in life. At the second I looked at the photo album’s title, I knew what it would be.

*   *   *

WALKED THE MEMORY

December 19 2009

“this place feels so peaceful, as usual..”I said to myself while walking the village road.

Sumberbentis village, Kediri, East Java. Being there would naturally refresh my mind from every single big city matters. I know that I will be surrounded by big and tall trees, beautiful mountains, green hills, and humble yet friendly people and children who love to smile and laugh everyday. Being there feels like that I can forget my whole routine in the city. It’s totally different.

The View

With 20 minutes effort, I finally stood at the top of a hill. The view was fascinating, and the breeze of the air was comforting my heart and made me call their name one by one. Almost of my friends’ name was being told already, and then this last three names got their turn.

“Once again in life, I step my feet onto this hill. Lenneke, Shivan, Dennis.. here I am..

They are still the same beautiful people, beautiful village, exactly like last year. I’m now standing here at the same hill like we did almost half and a year ago. Everything stays the same, but me. I’m alone here without all of our friends, without you guys…”

To know that time indeed flies and leaves memories was breaking my heart. But I didn’t let myself drown into that melancholic mood. Soon after gave some souvenirs as my early birthday celebration, I went to my house parents’ house and had a very great conversation with them. I still remember that they cried at the time I arrived there without confirmation before. They were so surprised and I was glad for it. I can’t do nothing but share the happiness. I was thinking that my 20 birthday celebration would be perfect date, and it’s true.

*   *   *

COUNTING THE DAYS

June 29 2011

It’s now 31 days to go for my Summer School at Netherlands, particularly in Utrecht Universiteit. Every morning I wake up, this upcoming exciting summer school still feels like a dream. Indeed, this winning of a writing competition held by Neso Indonesia definitely being my booster of thesis making. So whatever it takes, good or bad, I should keep on moving for I know there would be something great as the reward.

Today almost reaches the 4th week since the winner announcement. I already made some preparations for this summer school. I thank God that my partner, Titis and I have one thing in common. It’s thesis. As the final-year students, we try our best to get our thesis done as soon as possible before leaving Indonesia. Especially for me, a month away from homeland would be enough not to care about the undone thesis. So that’s why we’re keeping on encouraging each other to give the best effort for our thesis. Together with her, as the other winner, we arrange the itinerary, choose the date, and remind each other about all the documents needed. FYI, we have not finished yet. Since I will stay longer at Europe, I should make the extended arrangement for the next trip. The tickets, personal itinerary, and so on. Meanwhile, Titis will be so busy on booking train’s ticket and hostels’ voucher.

Despite all of those friggin’ business and rushes, I’m eager to do something before my leaving for summer school. Go to the place where I fall in love with Netherlands for the first time.

Desa Sumberbentis, Kediri, Jawa Timur

(Sumberbentis village, Kediri, East Java).

*   *   *

It’s started with Community Outreach Program that initiated by Petra Christian University. For almost 30 days my group stayed in a village called Sumberbentis.

I do heart my Sumberbentis Group!

My group’s member formed by people from various country such as Japan, Hong Kong, Korea and also Netherlands. We did some projects in order to make a better quality for the villager’s life. Focused with education, almost of our projects were related with children and schools there. Together we repainted the school’s wall, made some new chairs and tables then repainted it, we also taught them about English, and create some education events with a very fun packaging, completed with interactive games and many more.

LENNEKE, SHIVAN, AND DENNIS – The Dutch

Talking about knowing Netherlands or Holland, I do realize that it was my first time. While most of every group member was sleeping, me, Lenneke, and Shivan often gather in my house’s living room and have a discussion. I should admit that I felt a lil bit afraid at first, because of the differences both cultural and also life values. Me as a girl who has been living by eastern way, could see that Dutch people tend to be more liberal in their life.

But I thank to God for the fact that we become so close. Somehow the openness in our conversation was getting stronger an it’s a good thing. Beside discussed about COP itself, each of us shared about the local culture and also way of life in our home country. I told them that as Asian, people tend to be in-assertive. It’s not that common to speak very brief yet frank like Western does, especially with older people. In other side, they also told me about how Dutch doing things in their life, it’s clear that Dutch people tend to be very punctual. That time, I let them know that all members in our group should learn it from Dutch people. This kind of conversation did not happen just once, but many times, three or four of us gathered and talked about many things, even deeper.

As the time goes by, me and the Dutch people there were becoming so close with each other. There was a time that we discussed about things that others might not have any idea about, such as education and technology, religion, social life such as : how teenage face their sexual need for the first time, the process of a romantic relationship, even family matters such as : parents, and many more. Those themes were discussed in two different perspectives, so that we could understand others value better. It was amazing to get into such multicultural conversation. Instead of being a barrier, those differences even make us closer one another.

Me, Len, and Shiv

With Denn

Four of us at my house

Four of us at my house!

Once, Shivan and Lenneke asked me how come I could be more Western than the other Asian members in our group. I was laughed. I told her, that’s because of the value of my family. My brief explanation about demovratic values in my family has made them understand and give me a Holland-Indonesian as my new title. I used to joke all the time with Dennis, the only Dutch guy in my group. I did feel comfortable beside him and with the other Dutch. It doesn’t mean that I don’t fit in other country members. But I should admit that among all the foreign countries member of the group, I found Holland’s culture is more interesting and totally giving me a brand new air. Lenneke, Shivan and Dennis has taught me to be a stronger person yet honest in expressing my mind, my idea of life. All of us mean this experience deeply.

*   *   *

I do remember how hard me, Lenneke, Shivan and Dennis to say good bye. When many people from other group say that Holland people don’t cry like Asian, that time was different.

“Somehow , you teach me how to be more emotional and care about somebody’s feeling..it means a lot, V. As Dutch, i did not used to it, but i learn it from you..” said Lenneke at her last second, while Shivan just cannot tell many things but tears and a goodbye hug.

“Schatje, I will. I promise I will go back here. But i don’t know when. Maybe 5 years, maybe 10 years, maybe just few months from now, I have no idea, but I promise, ill back to Indonesia and meet you.” Dennis said that and hug me whose crying just like a baby at the Airport.

See you there!

We’re in blue and wonder when will be the ‘next time’ of our meeting.

..but now I know, when is that “next time”. Its 1st of August 2011.

*   *   *

This blog will be enough for me to write down all the stories. By this writing, I promise my self, to go back to Sumberbentis and meet all the people there once more. Since COP 2011 will be held in a week from now, I’m going to join them and Hyun Visser (the Korean guy that told in previous writing) for maybe two nights and visit my village. In Sumberbentis, I’d like them to know how precious my COP was, this village, and all the memories I had with them. Moreover, spending time with people there and share stories with each other would be perfect. At that time, I also will tell them about my summer school and let them know that God has a very beautiful plan for me, He listens my dream.

Missing this place

I do hope to share the Vitamin B there, at Sumberbentis..

Would you pray for me?

Right now, the most important thing that I should do is giving my time and efforts to finish the thesis, and also stay focus with my upcoming summer school at the same time. Once again Neso Indonesia Kompetiblog has changed my life, and I can’t wait for the next life’s surprises in Netherlands! Tot ziens!

find out more :

Kompetiblog : http://www.nesoindonesia.or.id/home/news-events/news-archive/2011/kompetiblog-study-in-holland-2011-is-open

Utrecht SummerSchool : http://www.utrechtsummerschool.nl/index.php?type=content&page=aboutsummerschool

Community Outreach Program by PCU : http://lppm.petra.ac.id/ppm/cop/index.php?option=com_content&view=frontpage&Itemid=53

12 thoughts on “Between Nederlands & Me. It’s You.

  1. yosuakristianto June 29, 2011 at 4:34 pm Reply

    De ervaringen in de Nederland zullen je leven veranderen meer en meer…
    Sterkte Viona..

  2. jeni karay June 29, 2011 at 5:03 pm Reply

    Ternyata kisah dari COP bisa memberi dampak luar biasa seperti ini. Sangat menginspirasi dan menyentuh. Sukses buat geges 😉

  3. Den June 29, 2011 at 10:44 pm Reply

    In holland you must read you winning text.. i’m so curious now..

    Watch app me 2morrow because i forgot something to say, about your travel to Paris en Swiss..

    x Den

    • G.Viona June 30, 2011 at 4:30 am Reply

      Hey, what Denn? I don’t even understand what do you mean. hehe! =)
      already whatsapp you. thought you have not wake up YET.
      Let me know soon kay!

      *comment about the post please, huh?

      xo

  4. Jezjez Jung Min Hwa June 30, 2011 at 1:15 am Reply

    Memang kok rencana Tuhan itu indah..gak ada yang namanya kebetulan.. Itu semua rencanaNya yg indah^^

  5. Gloria Lady Leony June 30, 2011 at 4:20 am Reply

    🙂 🙂 🙂

    • G.Viona June 30, 2011 at 4:31 am Reply

      Dear my sister! =) muahh

  6. @helgaindra June 30, 2011 at 4:22 pm Reply

    jujur saya harus mentranslate tulisan kamu buat ngebacanya
    seneng banget ya kalo suatu impian yang emang diidam2kan tercapai
    saya ikutan seneng ngebaca ceritanya

    good luck di belanda!
    😀

    • G.Viona July 8, 2011 at 5:45 am Reply

      Hahaha, kamu membuat saya ketawa sambil nyetir baca komentar ini =)
      Makasih ya Helga!
      Sukses selalu! Blog kamu does refresh my mind. hehehe =)

  7. Priscilla July 1, 2011 at 4:41 am Reply

    SALUTE!

    • G.Viona July 1, 2011 at 6:05 am Reply

      Halo Priscilla =) makasih banyak ya. Semoga bisa bermanfaat. Thank you for reading. God bless you!

  8. Bisma Ms July 5, 2011 at 5:54 am Reply

    Kalo aku jadi temen-temen Belandamu itu, bisa nangis lagi sambil baca tulisan ini. =) Ekspresi yang menyentuh hati..hehe.. Semangat Ges buat skripsi sama summer school nya.. Never stop dreaming and fighting ! Gbu

Leave a Reply

